The Beverly Hillbillies - February 14 - February 15, 2019

Wilbur Wright Theatre Company

 End Notes 

Munster Excels at State!



This year was the first year that Wilbur Wright Middle School competed with a contest play as part of the Indiana Thespians Regional Play competition.  On December 2, the cast and crew competed at Avon High School with I Never Saw Another Butterfly.  Though they placed 4th out of 6 schools, the comments from the judges were glowing.  From truthfully telling a challenging story to tackling Yiddish dialects, it was one of the strongest performances of that show.


On January 18-20, 31 MTC and WWTC students attended the Indiana Thespians State Conference in Indianapolis.  There, they competed in the state play competition, as well as several individual events in acting, technical theatre, and film.  Students also participated in the scholarship auditions for both the Indiana Thespians and various colleges in the Midwest.

Here is a run-down of the results:


Superior Award Winners and qualifiers for the International Thespian Festival include:


  • Sydney Hamill in Monologues
  • Joseph Bellahcen in Solo Musical
  • Kelly Collins in Solo Musical
  • Joseph Bellahcen and Michaela Marcotte in Duet Acting
  • Francis Hovland for Short Film (his film was declared Best of Show)


Excellent Award Winners include:


  • WWTC student Martin Collins in Monologues
  • Cali Grzybowski in Monologues
  • Ariel Shoriak in Monologues
  • Sam Migliore in Monologues
  • Martin Collins in Monologues
  • Maria Ramos in Solo Musical
  • Irene Tsakapoulos in Solo Musical
  • Maya Radjenovich in Solo Musical
  • Diana Ayala and Ariel Velasco in Duet Acting
  • Michael McDunn in Short Film

Cali Grzybowski was awarded a $650 Scholarship from the Indiana Thespians.  Additionally, Cali Grzybowski, Patricia Castro, and Michaela Marcotte participated in the college audition process, where scholarship offers are made.  The three women earned a combined total of over $70,000 in scholarship offers!


Finally, Andrew Wittkamp and Sarah Resch were elected as State Thespian Officers, serving on the state board for the 2019-2020 conference season.


As our middle school troupe grows, we look forward to expanding the above lists with more middle school award winners!


Page 9 of 12